It’s my birthday Bitches!


Okay, so I am ticking off another year. I don’t feel old but at the same time, I definitely do not feel young anymore. Thanks to Demi and Madonna, old is no longer a number but how much you can pay a trainer to keep your ass in shape. I think I’d look like them if I could just keep my fingers off the fridge handle and perhaps have a hot trainer like Jillian Micheals berate me as I oggle her through beads of sweat. (Wrote that sentence for you Ricky 😛 )

I look back at the 1st third of my life and I’m pretty satisfied.It’s been tough through some of it, but really compared to most people, I feel truly lucky. I married a pretty good guy, I have two healthy kids, I live in a modest house and live a modest lifestyle. I want for nothing material, because I don’t need much to be happy.  For the most part, my life so far has been a humble blessing and I am grateful. I wish I was more fit and worked a bit less, but who doesn’t wish for that? My only true off kilter thing in my life is my sexuality and now it’s slowly righting itself. Hopefully sooner, rather than later.

I feel as if I turned some corner when I sliced into my rainbow cake. Yes, it was rainbow and yummy as hell. It tasted a bit like freedom. I had a full on hippie/ tie-dye themed party and dressed accordingly. My husband half-jokingly scoffed at the free spirited play, pretending that he was completely impervious to it’s appeal. I must admit, it was cheesy, but it was fun and I liked the feeling of not caring what anyone thought. My friends all enjoyed themselves and we drank in the hippie vibe and played into it with braids and throwback hippie clothes.

I am hoping/planning that this year will be my year of change. It IS the year of the Dragon… I am a Dragon based on the Chinese zodiac. Obama officially made June the gayest month of the year, befitting, since it’s the month of my birth. By chance alone, I will be up by Providence during the Pride celebration. The coincidences are overwhelming. I’m starting to wonder if I have strings attached to my head, neck and limbs. As if some great hand is moving me in this direction…. Hmmm?

So on this most grandest (not really) of occasions, I am celebrating my life so far and the amazing moments I have yet to experience. I look forward to more fun and acceptance of myself. I have a big talk coming up with my husband. I just got to grow some balls. (Ugh, that just made me throw up a little in my mouth.) Don’t ask me when that will happen, my spine has yet to even form itself. Perhaps that will be my present to myself. Who knows. I’m just excited at the possibilities in the future. I feel good things coming and I am so ready for something new.

Right now I’m gonna just enjoy this effing hot day, eat some cake and have a lovely cocktail when I get home.

P.S. Thank you for following me, or just taking a moment to read my blog. I really do appreciate it.

8 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Happy b-day! I hope this will be your year 🙂

  2. Happy Birthday! Sounds like your part was a hit!

  3. Happy birthday 🙂 Wishing you much love, health, happiness and peace in the year to come. Enjoy!!

  4. Love your cake. I hope you saved me a gluten-free slice.
    Enjoy your year. It can be whatever you want it to be.

Leave a Reply

