The Painting in the closet


It’s amazing how much impact we have on other people’s lives that we don’t even realize. Our small action great huge ripples . It’s also very ironic how life can be.
I was very broke at the time and living in a very small trailer. You could brush your teeth and do the dishes and take a shower all at the same time. The trailer was approximately 10 foot wide by about 20 foot long to give you an idea of how small it was. It was dingy and starting to fall apart but that rent was very cheap and it was out of the woods so we didn’t have to live in a bad neighborhood. And even though it was small and cluttered I was able to paint as much as I possibly had time for.
I scrounged up enough money to enter into the local art fair. I borrowed a tent from a friend and spent my very last dime on lattice to showcase my paintings. It was a big investment for being so poor.
The weekend of the art fair came and I danced about my booth trying to gauge my customers and what they thought. I embellished my stories about how deep and meaningful each painting was when really I paint like a singer sings, it just comes out of me. Colors, like notes, exploding from me where words fail. But explaining that to someone who doesn’t paint is akin to explaining theology to a monkey. However, they do understand representation, so i usually go at it from that angle.
I’m not implying that art buyers are ignorant, quite the contrary, but they usually are more into appreciation than creation.
I digress. So I’ve done moderately well, enough to cover my entry but still I’m waiting and then this woman walks in. She’s beautiful and very well maintained. I could tell immediately that she could have bought me out on the spot. She browsed my paintings and her beautiful brown eyes landed on a chair painting. She eyed it over, drinking in the details. My heart raced. It was one of my most expensive paintings. She asked me what it meant, commented on its plush look and then said she wanted it for her closet!
I was shocked and insulted. She then went on to explain that her “closet” was a room about twice the square footage of the mobile home I was residing in. I cringed but smiled. At least it wasn’t a bathroom. She handed me the money and my heart soared.
Little did she know about the irony of where that painting came from. How rich the artwork looked compared to the very bleak space from which it was created to the place it now finally hangs. It spoke volumes about the irony in my own life. How I would cook little gourmet dinners on the nasty dinky little stove to the Coach shoes I proudly
bought on sale and had stored safely for a special occasion.
Her purchase was not just a pretty painting for her closet, it was a leg up and the glimmer in an artists dream. It made my world a bit bigger and more obtainable. I wonder if she sees all that in her painting in her closet….

About the post

inspiration, Noteworthy, Self Discovery

Leave a Reply

The Painting in the closet


It’s amazing how much impact we have on other people’s lives that we don’t even realize. Our small action great huge ripples . It’s also very ironic how life can be.
I was very broke at the time and living in a very small trailer. You could brush your teeth and do the dishes and take a shower all at the same time. The trailer was approximately 10 foot wide by about 20 foot long to give you an idea of how small it was. It was dingy and starting to fall apart but that rent was very cheap and it was out of the woods so we didn’t have to live in a bad neighborhood. And even though it was small and cluttered I was able to paint as much as I possibly had time for.
I scrounged up enough money to enter into the local art fair. I borrowed a tent from a friend and spent my very last dime on lattice to showcase my paintings. It was a big investment for being so poor.
The weekend of the art fair came and I danced about my booth trying to gauge my customers and what they thought. I embellished my stories about how deep and meaningful each painting was when really I paint like a singer sings, it just comes out of me. Colors, like notes, exploding from me where words fail. But explaining that to someone who doesn’t paint is akin to explaining theology to a monkey. However, they do understand representation, so i usually go at it from that angle.
I’m not implying that art buyers are ignorant, quite the contrary, but they usually are more into appreciation than creation.
I digress. So I’ve done moderately well, enough to cover my entry but still I’m waiting and then this woman walks in. She’s beautiful and very well maintained. I could tell immediately that she could have bought me out on the spot. She browsed my paintings and her beautiful brown eyes landed on a chair painting. She eyed it over, drinking in the details. My heart raced. It was one of my most expensive paintings. She asked me what it meant, commented on its plush look and then said she wanted it for her closet!
I was shocked and insulted. She then went on to explain that her “closet” was a room about twice the square footage of the mobile home I was residing in. I cringed but smiled. At least it wasn’t a bathroom. She handed me the money and my heart soared.
Little did she know about the irony of where that painting came from. How rich the artwork looked compared to the very bleak space from which it was created to the place it now finally hangs. It spoke volumes about the irony in my own life. How I would cook little gourmet dinners on the nasty dinky little stove to the Coach shoes I proudly
bought on sale and had stored safely for a special occasion.
Her purchase was not just a pretty painting for her closet, it was a leg up and the glimmer in an artists dream. It made my world a bit bigger and more obtainable. I wonder if she sees all that in her painting in her closet….

About the post

inspiration, Noteworthy, Self Discovery

Leave a Reply

